101 Must-Do's for Kiwis

World Heritage Convict Sites: Coal Mines


About World Heritage Convict Sites: Coal Mines

Tasmania's compelling convict heritage has been officially recognised by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). In July 2010 it was announced that 11 Australian convict sites were inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Five of these are Tasmanian: Port Arthur Historic Site and the Coal Mines Historic Site on the Tasman Peninsula; the Cascades Female Factory in South Hobart; Darlington Probation Station on Maria Island; and Woolmers and Brickendon Estates near Longford.

Vote for this Must-Do

Contact Details

Website: http://www.discovertasmania.com/activities__and__attractions/heritage__and__culture/tasmanian_convicts